Leeds School of Medicine

Leeds School Of Medicine

University Less

Leeds School of Medicine

to get instant updates about 'Leeds School Of Medicine' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Leeds School of Medicine is the medical school of the University of Leeds, Leeds, West Yorkshire, England. The School of Medicine was founded in 1831, before the Yorkshire College which became the University, and now forms part of the University's Faculty of Medicine and Health. It is located at the southern end of the campus in the Worsley Building, which also houses the Leeds Dental Institute. The School of Medicine is linked with the two major hospitals for clinical teaching: the Leeds General Infirmary and St James's University Hospital, both run by the Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust. the medical school accepts some 238 home students and a further 20 from overseas per year. .


On 6 June 1831 six physicians and surgeons set up the Leeds medical school with the aim: The medical school admitted its first students in the October of that year. It was one of ten provincial medical schools founded in the ten years between 1824-1834.

The founders were:
  • Dr James Williamson
  • Dr Adam Hunter
  • Mr Samuel Smith
  • Mr William Hey III
  • Mr Thomas Pridgin Teale
  • Dr Joseph Prince Garlick

The first premises were the Leeds Public Dispensary on North Street in the town but in 1834 the school was moved to new premises at 1 East Parade.

In 1979, the medical school moved to its current location in the Worsley Building.


The medical training in Leeds lasts five years although an optional intercalated degree can be taken...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from