Legion of Merit (Rhodesia)

Legion Of Merit (Rhodesia)

Legion of Merit (Rhodesia)

to get instant updates about 'Legion Of Merit (Rhodesia)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

<!-- Deleted image removed: -->The Legion of Merit was a Rhodesian order of merit awarded to both civilian and military recipients for service to Rhodesia.


The award was instituted in 1970 by Presidential Warrant, the first awards being made the same year. The last awards were made in June 1980. The civil class was suspended from a green and gold ribbon. The military class differed by featuring a red stripe on the green and gold ribbon.


There were five classes of the order:
  • Grand Commander (GCLM)
  • Grand Officer (GLM)
  • Commander (CLM)
  • Officer (OLM)
  • Member (MLM)

The incumbent President of Rhodesia served as Grand Master of the Legion of Merit. Recipients of the order were entitled to the post-nominal letters shown above.


The Legion of Merit was superseded in April 1981Zimbabwe Government Statutory Instrument No. 197A of 1981, 17 April 1981. by the Zimbabwe Order of Merit, which is awarded to civilians as well as military personnel for eminent achievement and services to Zimbabwe.

Notable recipients

While the higher grades of the order were used almost exclusively by Ian Smith's Rhodesian Front government to reward political service, recipients of the lower and middle grades included a number of notable military leaders, community leaders and civil servants. There was a strong sex bias apparent in the award of the Rhodesian Legion of Merit; no women were ever made Grand Commander or Grand Officer; only one...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from