Lesotho Congress for Democracy

Lesotho Congress For Democracy

Political Party
Political Party Less

Lesotho Congress for Democracy

to get instant updates about 'Lesotho Congress For Democracy' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Lesotho Congress for Democracy is a political party in Lesotho.

In 1997, Prime Minister Ntsu Mokhehle left the Basutoland Congress Party to form with his faction the new Lesotho Congress for Democracy. The new party won the 1998 elections with 60.7% of the popular vote and 79 out of 80 seats. Pakalitha Mosisili became the new party leader and prime minister. At the elections for the National Assembly, 25 May 2002, the party won 54.9% of popular votes and 77 out of 120 seats. In the 17 February 2007 parliamentary election, the party won 61 out of 120 seats., AFP (IOL), February 21, 2007.

Major splits from the party occurred in October 2001, when leading LCD members Kelebone Maope and Shakhane Mokhehle left the party to form the Lesotho People's Congress, and in October 2006, when Tom Thabane left the party to form the All Basotho Convention.


External links

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Political Party
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from