Lewis Carroll Shelf Award

Lewis Carroll Shelf Award

Lewis Carroll Shelf Award

to get instant updates about 'Lewis Carroll Shelf Award' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Lewis Carroll Shelf Award was started in 1958 by Dr. David C. Davis with the assistance of Prof. Lola Pierstorff, Director Instructional Materials Center, Univ. of Wisconsin and Madeline Allen Davis, WHA Wisconsin Public Radio. Awards were presented annually at the Wisconsin Book Conference which featured speakers such as Dr. Seuss, William Steig, Helga Sandburg, Arna Bontemps, Nat Hentoff, Paul Engle, Jean George, Ed Emberly, Charlemae Rollins, Watts poet Jimmy Sherman, Maurice Sendak, Holling C. Holling, Pamela Travers, Ann Nolan Clark, Louise Lemp, Frank Luther, and Ramon Coffman/Uncle Ray. Award List. “Lewis Carroll Shelf Award Winners”, Lewis Carroll Shelf Award Collection, Living Arts Corporation, Loveland, Colorado.

The University of Wisconsin College of Education (Madison) gave the award annually from 1958 to 1979 to books judged to have enough of the qualities of Lewis Carroll's work to belong on the same shelf as Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. The criteria for selection was based on initial nominations from trade book editors who were allowed to nominate one trade book each year through their published catalog. The Component Analysis Selector Tool rated the tradebooks on the following factors: authenticity, universality, insight, symbol systems-craftsmanship, impact, genre comparison, field setting of reader and test of time. The evaluation process was done to locate outstanding thoughts from the mediocre...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from