Liberal Left Party

Liberal Left Party

Liberal Left Party

to get instant updates about 'Liberal Left Party' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Liberal Left Party () is a defunct Norwegian political party.


It was founded on 3 March 1909, under leadership of the former Prime Minister Christian Michelsen. Most of the party had its background from the Liberal Party, consisting of the most conservative fraction.

The party had a close cooperation with the Conservative Party, and was part of multiple Governments, including Løvland's Cabinet, Konow's Cabinet, Bratlie's Cabinet, Bahr Halvorsen's First and Second Cabinet, Berge's Cabinet and Lykke's Cabinet. Both Abraham Berge and Wollert Konow where Prime Ministers from the party.

The party received 26 representatives in Parliament of Norway in the 1909 election, but the numbers sank, and by the 1933 election the party was without seats. In 1933 the party changed its name to the Liberal People's Party (). Part of the explanation for the defeat in the 1933 election has been credited an electoral cooperation with National Unification (NS). After the defeat the party leaned closer towards NS, which gave even worse results in the 1936 elections. By then most members had joined the Conservatives, and in 1945 the party was formally dissolved to the advantage of the Conservatives.

Party leaders

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from