List of Edmonton Oilers seasons

List Of Edmonton Oilers Seasons

List of Edmonton Oilers seasons

to get instant updates about 'List Of Edmonton Oilers Seasons' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

This is a list of seasons completed by the Edmonton Oilers professional ice hockey club. This list documents the records and playoff results of the Oilers' 35 year history in both the World Hockey Association (WHA) and later, the National Hockey League (NHL).

The Edmonton Oilers began as a charter member of the World Hockey Association (WHA) in 1972, and were known as the Alberta Oilers for their first season after their Calgary counterparts were unable to play. The Oilers were a middle of the road team, failing to win a single playoff series until their seventh, and final, season in the WHA. In that last year, the Oilers lost to the Winnipeg Jets in the last Avco World Trophy final.

In 1979, the Oilers, along with the Jets, the Hartford Whalers and the Quebec Nordiques joined the NHL following the dissolution of the WHA. They would quickly find success, first by shocking the Montreal Canadiens in 1980–81, then by finishing atop the Smythe Division each of the next five years. After falling to the New York Islanders in their first Stanley Cup final in 1982–83, the Oilers would achieve what is generally regarded as the last dynasty in NHL history by capturing five Stanley Cups in seven years between 1984 and 1990.

The Oilers have not since been able to duplicate that level of success since, however, they did capture their seventh Conference title in 2005–06, as their run...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from