List of Nunavut general elections

List Of Nunavut General Elections

List of Nunavut general elections

to get instant updates about 'List Of Nunavut General Elections' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Canadian territory of Nunavut holds general elections to its unicameral legislative body, the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut. There is no fixed schedule for elections, but they are typically held every four to five years. Nunavut was created 1 April 1999 from part of the Northwest Territories, and its first election was held prior to division on 15 February 1999. The most recent was held on 27 October 2008.

Nunavut is divided into nineteen constituencies, each electing one Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA). The number of constituencies has remained unchanged since the first general election. Nunavut uses consensus government in which there are no political parties. The Premier of Nunavut (and the cabinet) is directly elected by the MLAs, unlike most other provincial or territorial premiers, who are officially appointed by a Lieutenant-Governor or Commissioner on account of their leadership of a majority bloc in the legislature.

In the electoral district of Akulliq, The 2008 election was delayed because of a legal battle that was brought forth by the former Member of Parliament Jack Anawak. Jack Anawak filed as a candidate in the 2008 election but his application was rejected by Elections Nunavut because he had not lived in the territory for twelve consecutive months prior to the election. -......
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from