List of Scottish football champions

List Of Scottish Football Champions

List of Scottish football champions

to get instant updates about 'List Of Scottish Football Champions' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Scottish football champions are the winners of the highest league in Scottish football, namely the Scottish Football League from 1890 until 1998 and the Scottish Premier League thereafter.

The Scottish Football League was established in 1890, initially as an amateur league until professionalism in Scottish football was legalised in 1893. At the end of the first season Dumbarton and Rangers finished level on points at the top of the table. The rules in force at the time required that the teams contest a play-off match for the championship, which finished in a 2–2 draw, and the first ever championship was thus shared between two clubs, the only occasion on which this has happened. In 1893 a Second Division was formed, with the existing single division renamed the First Division. Although there were several short spells when a third division was created, the two-division structure remained largely in place until 1975, when a major re-organisation of the league led to a new three-tier set-up and the creation of a new Premier Division at the highest level. The league continued during the First World War but was suspended during the Second World War.

Throughout its...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from