List of winners of the New York City Marathon

List Of Winners Of The New York City Marathon

List of winners of the New York City Marathon

to get instant updates about 'List Of Winners Of The New York City Marathon' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The New York City Marathon is a 42,195 meter (26.21875 mile) race through all five boroughs of New York City, and ranks as the largest marathon in the world, with 37,850 finishers in 2006. Since its inaugural race in 1970, 28 men and 23 women have won the open division of the New York City Marathon, representing 19 different countries. From 1970 through 1975, the race was held entirely in Central Park. It has started in Staten Island and gone through New York City's other four boroughs since 1976. Grete Waitz of Norway has won the race more than any other athlete, having completed her 9th victory in 1988, setting three course records in the process. Current course records were set by Tesfaye Jifar of Ethiopia in 2001 in the men's division, and by Margaret Okayo of Kenya in 2003 in the women's division.

A wheelchair race has been held since 2000. Among the wheelchair racers, Edith Hunkeler of Switzerland has the most victories, with five. She also holds the women's course record with a time of 1:52:38, while Kurt Fearnley of Australia holds the men's record with 1:29:22.

Men's Open Division

Women's Open Division

Men's Wheelchair Division

Women's Wheelchair Division

Victories by nationality



  • , Running USA Wire, May 20, 2006.

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from