Littleborough and Saddleworth (UK Parliament constituency)

Littleborough And Saddleworth (UK Parliament Constituency)

UK ConstituencyMain
UK ConstituencyMain

Littleborough and Saddleworth (UK Parliament constituency)

to get instant updates about 'Littleborough And Saddleworth (UK Parliament Constituency)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Littleborough and Saddleworth was a parliamentary constituency in Greater Manchester, England. It returned one Member of Parliament to the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom.

The constituency was created for the 1983 general election, and abolished for the 1997 general election.


This Conservative-Liberal Democrat marginal was held by the Conservative Party at the three General Elections of its existence. The victorious MP on each of these occasions was Geoffrey Dickens, who was elected in 1979 for Huddersfield West (which was a predecessor constituency to this constituency). However, at a by-election called after Dickens' death in 1995, it was won by Chris Davies of the Liberal Democrats.


The constituency was centred on the towns of Littleborough, Milnrow and Saddleworth. In 1997, three quarters of the seat became part of the new Oldham East and Saddleworth constituency, with the remainder joining a changed Rochdale constituency.

Members of Parliament


Elections in the 1990s

Elections in the 1980s

See also

Notes and references

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


UK Constituency Main
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from