Local Government Act 2001

Local Government Act 2001

Local Government Act 2001

to get instant updates about 'Local Government Act 2001' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Local Government Act, 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) was enacted by the Oireachtas of the Republic of Ireland on 21 July 2001. Most of the provisions of the Act came into operation on 1 January 2002.

According to the explanatory memorandum issued before the passing of the Act, its purposes were to:
  • enhance the role of the elected member,
  • support community involvement with local authorities in a more participative local democracy,
  • modernise local government legislation, and provide the framework for new financial management systems and other procedures to promote efficiency and effectiveness,
  • underpin generally the programme of local government renewal.

Local government areas

The Act established local government areas based on those already created by previous legislation. The types of areas listed in the Act are:

Counties: Identical to the administrative counties established by the Local Government Act 1898 and modified by later legislation. The opportunity was taken to rename Tipperary (North Riding) and Tipperary (South Riding) as North Tipperary and South Tipperary respectively.

Cities: These were the County boroughs created by the 1898 Act and later legislation, renamed. All the county boroughs except Galway had previously had the courtesy title of city by charter or letters patent.

Boroughs: The five existing non-county boroughs continued in existence. In addition it was recognised that Kilkenny could continue to be called a city, in spite of being governed by a...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from