Local government in Maharashtra

Local Government In Maharashtra

Local government in Maharashtra

to get instant updates about 'Local Government In Maharashtra' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Local government is Maharashtra State has general structure of Local Governance in India and is broadly classified in two category, Urban Local Government and Rural Local Government.

Urban Local Government

Urban Local government can be classified as Municipal corporation and municipal council.

Municipal Corporations

Large Urban areas are governed by Municipal Corporations also called just Corporations. The area under the Corporation is further divided up into Wards. Individual wards or collection of wards within a corporation some times have their own administrative body called Ward Committees.

In Maharashtra there are 23 municipal Corporations in Maharashtra viz,
  1. Mumbai
  2. Mira-Bhayandar
  3. Thane
  4. Navi Mumbai
  5. Vasai-Virar
  6. Bhiwandi-Nizampur
  7. Kalyan-Dombivli
  8. Ulhasnagar
  9. Pune
  10. Pimpri-Chinchwad
  11. Kolhapur
  12. Sangli-Miraj-Kupwad
  13. Solapur
  14. Ahmednagar
  15. Nashik
  16. Malegaon
  17. Jalgaon
  18. Dhule
  19. Aurangabad
  20. Nanded-Waghala
  21. Akola
  22. Amravati
  23. Nagpur

Municipal councils

Smaller Urban areas are governened by Municipal councils or Municipal Boards also called just Municipalities. Municipalities are also subdivided into Wards, which may be grouped together into Ward Councils. One or more...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from