Mahbubnagar district

Mahbubnagar District

Indian Jurisdiction
Indian Jurisdiction Less

Mahbubnagar district

to get instant updates about 'Mahbubnagar District' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Mahabubnagar or Mahboobnagar (, ),(formerly called as nagar kurnul district) also known as Palamooru () is a district in the Andhra Pradesh state of India, in the Telangana region. It is named after its largest city and district headquarters, Mahabubnagar.

It is the second largest district in the state in terms of area. It is located away from the state capital Hyderabad.

The largest towns in the district are Mahabubnagar, Narayanpet, Atmakur, Achampet, Gadwal, Wanaparthy, Jadcherla, Kalwakurthy, Shadnagar, Kodangal, Amarchintha, Makhtal, Alampur, Kollapur and Nagarkurnool.

Information about MAHABUBNAGAR

This place was formerly known as "Rukmammapeta" and "Palamooru". The name was changed to Mahabubnagar on 4th December 1890, in honour of Mir Mahbub Ali Khan Asaf Jah VI, the Nizam of Hyderabad (1869-1911 AD). It has been the headquarters of the district since 1883 AD. The Mahabubnagar region was once known as Cholawadi or the land of the Cholas'. It is said that the famous Golconda diamonds including famous "KOHINOOR" diamond came from Mahabubnagar district.


Mahabubnagar district had a population of 3,513,934 as of 2001, of which only 10.57 percent lived in the district head-quarters. The majority of the residents live in rural areas.

The primary languages spoken are Telugu, Urdu and Hindi.


There are 1553 Revenue Villages, 1347 Grama Panchayatis, 64 Mandals and five Revenue Divisions. Mahabubnagar district also...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Indian Jurisdiction
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from