Margaret Irwin

Margaret Irwin

Writer Less

Margaret Irwin

to get instant updates about 'Margaret Irwin' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Margaret Emma Faith Irwin (1889 — 11 December 1969) was an English author of several important historical novels, as well as a factual biography of Sir Walter Raleigh.


Irwin was born in London, England, and educated at Clifton High School in Bristol, and at Oxford University. She began writing books and short stories in the early 1920s. She married children's author and illustrator John Robert Monsell in 1929.

Her novels were esteemed for the accuracy of their historical research, and she became a noted authority on the Elizabethan and early Stewart era. One of her novels, Young Bess about the early years of Queen Elizabeth I, was made into a movie starring Jean Simmons.


Single Novels

  • Still She Wished for Company (1924)
  • These Mortals (1925)
  • Knock Four Times (1927)
  • Fire Down Below (1928)
  • Royal Flush (1932)
  • The Stranger Prince: The Story of Rupert of the Rhine (1938)
  • The Bride: The Story of Louise And Montrose (1939)
  • The Gay Galliard: The Story of Mary Queen of Scots (1941) Later published as The Galliard.
  • Royal Flush: The Story of Minette (1948)
  • The Proud Servant: A Story of Montrose (1949)
  • The Heart's Memory (1951)
  • Hidden Splendour (1952)
  • None So Pretty: Or, the Story of Mr. Cork (1953)

Queen Elizabeth Trilogy

  • Young Bess (1944)
  • Elizabeth, Captive Princess (1948)
  • Elizabeth and the Prince of Spain (1953)

Short Stories

  • Bloodstock and Other Stories (1953)


  • That Great Lucifer: A Portrait of Sir Walter Raleigh......

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from