Mark Messier Leadership Award

Mark Messier Leadership Award

Ice Hockey Award
Ice Hockey Award Less

Mark Messier Leadership Award

to get instant updates about 'Mark Messier Leadership Award' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Mark Messier Leadership Award is a National Hockey League (NHL) award that recognizes an individual as a superior leader within their sport, and as a contributing member of society. The award is given to a player selected by Mark Messier to honor an individual who leads by positive example through on-ice performance, motivation of team members and a dedication to community activities and charitable causes. It was first awarded during 2006–07 NHL season and sponsored by Cold-fX.


Sponsored by Cold-fX, the Mark Messier Leadership Award worked quite differently in its first season compared to most other trophies in the NHL. In , five players were honored with monthly awards as selected by the NHL based on the qualification of potential recipients, while the final decision was made by Mark Messier. The league did not announce monthly winners in . At the end of the regular season, one player is chosen as the Leader of the Year. The first winner of the annual award was Chris Chelios of the Detroit Red Wings.

The award was named after Mark Messier, a longtime player in the NHL. Messier is, to date, the only person to be the captain of two different teams that won the Stanley Cup, doing so with the Edmonton Oilers in 1990 and the New York Rangers in 1994.


See also


Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Ice Hockey Award
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from