Mary Poppins

Mary Poppins

Novel Series
Novel Series Less

Mary Poppins

to get instant updates about 'Mary Poppins' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Mary Poppins is a series of children's books written by P. L. Travers and originally illustrated by Mary Shepard. The books centre on a mysterious, vain and acerbic magical English nanny, Mary Poppins. She is blown by the East wind to Number Seventeen Cherry Tree Lane, London and into the Banks' household to care for their children. Encounters with chimney sweeps, shopkeepers and various adventures follow until Mary Poppins abruptly leaves, i.e., "pops-out". The adventures take place over a total of eight books. However, only the first three books feature Mary Poppins arriving and leaving. The later five books recount previously unrecorded adventures from her original three visits. As P.L. Travers explains in her introduction to Mary Poppins in the Park, "She cannot forever arrive and depart."

It is likely that P.L. Travers lived in Bowral, New South Wales when she originally came up with the character that became Mary Poppins. Approximately 1,200 people with umbrellas formed the shape of Mary Poppins. An aerial photograph was taken by helicopter.<ref...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Novel Series
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from