Maryland House of Delegates

Maryland House Of Delegates


Maryland House of Delegates

to get instant updates about 'Maryland House Of Delegates' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Maryland House of Delegates is the lower house of the General Assembly, the state legislature of the U.S. state of Maryland, and is composed of 141 Delegates elected from 47 districts. The House chamber is located in the state capitol building on State Circle in Annapolis. The state capitol building also houses the Maryland Senate chamber and the offices of the Governor and Lieutenant Governor of the state of Maryland. Each Delegate has offices in Annapolis, in the Taylor House Office Building.


The Maryland House of Delegates originated as the Lower House of the General Assembly in 1650, when the legislature became a bicameral body. The Lower House often fought with the Upper House for political influence in the colony. The Upper House consisted of the governor and his council, all personally appointed by Lord Baltimore, and were thus more dedicated to protect his interests in Maryland. Conversely, the Lower House pushed for change in the colony, claiming to be the true elected representatives of the people. In this context, the Lower House continually fought for more power by asserting exclusive rights in certain legislative areas, such as levying taxes and originating money bills.

The governor also had some measure of control over the Lower House in the late seventeenth century. Despite the fact that each county was entitled to elect four delegates, the governor selected only two of these to sit in the Lower House. This enabled the governor to control the...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from