to get instant updates about 'Mashonaland' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Mashonaland is a region in northern Zimbabwe. It is the home of the Shona people.

Currently, Mashonaland is divided into three provinces, with a total population of about 3 million:

In addition, the Zimbabwean capital of Harare, a province unto itself, lies entirely in Mashonaland.

Provincial history

It was originally one of the regions that the country was divided into following occupation by the Pioneer Column in 1890 and designated the extent of territory under administration of the British South Africa Company as distinct from the remainder of the territory that was directly under the control of the Matabele king, Lobengula, which was named Matabeleland when it was occupied in 1893. The two had separate administrations for part of the BSA Company colonial period. In 1923, the territory became part of the self-governing colony of Southern Rhodesia and Mashonaland became one of the five provinces. In 1970, an administrative reform led to Mashonaland being divided into a northern and a southern half. Most recently, in 1983, it was divided into the current three sectors and the capital city of Harare was given its own provincial status as well. Since the constitutional amendments that took effect in 1988, each is run by a governor appointed by the president.

Geographical features

The territory is composed of a broad plateau that...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from