Maxwell Football Club

Maxwell Football Club

Maxwell Football Club

to get instant updates about 'Maxwell Football Club' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Maxwell Football Club (originally called the Maxwell Football Club of Philadelphia) was established in 1935 to promote safety in the game of American football. Named in honor of the late Robert W. Maxwell, legendary college player, official, and sports columnist, the club was founded by his friend Bert Bell, then owner of the Philadelphia Eagles professional football team and later commissioner of the National Football League.

As of 2011, the club's president is Ron Jaworski, former NFL quarterback. The club's headquarters are located in Ambler, Pennsylvania.


The club presents several awards annually to professional, college, and high-school football players, coaches, and others, including:
  • Maxwell Award for College Player of the Year, first awarded in 1937
  • Chuck Bednarik Award for College Defensive Player of the Year, instituted in 1995
  • Bert Bell Award for Professional Player of the Year, established following Bell's death in 1959
  • Jim Henry Award for Area High-School Student-Athlete Football Player of the Year, instituted in 1986
  • Earle "Greasy" Neale Award for Professional Coach of the Year, introduced in 1989
  • Joseph V. Paterno Award (formerly the George Munger Award) for College Coach of the Year, introduced in 1989
  • Reds Bagnell Award for Contributions to the Game of Football, introduced in 1989
  • Tri-State Player of the Year Award, first presented in 2001
  • Tri-State Coach of the Year Award, established in 1998
  • Harrah's Broadcast Award for Sports......
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from