Megalithic Temples of Malta

Megalithic Temples Of Malta

World Heritage Site
World Heritage Site Less

Megalithic Temples of Malta

to get instant updates about 'Megalithic Temples Of Malta' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Megalithic Temples of Malta are a series of prehistoric monuments in Malta of which seven are UNESCO World Heritage Sites. This led to the building of several temples of the Ġgantija phase (3600-3000 BC), culminating in the large Tarxien temple complex, which remained in use until 2500 BC. After this date, the temple building culture disappeared.

The Ġgantija temples (two sites) were listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1980. In 1992, the UNESCO Committee further extended the existing listing to include five other megalithic temple sites. These are Ħaġar Qim (in Qrendi), Mnajdra (in Qrendi) , Ta' Ħaġrat Temples (in Mġarr), Skorba Temples (in Żebbiegħ) and Tarxien Temples (in Tarxien). Nowadays, the sites are managed by Heritage Malta, while ownership of the surrounding lands varies from site to site. They are the oldest free-standing structures on Earth.

Other sites apart from those included in the UNESCO World Heritage list include Borġ in-Nadur< (in Birżebbuġa), Kordin...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


World Heritage Site
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from