Melrose Sevens

to get instant updates about 'Melrose Sevens' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Melrose Sevens is an annual rugby sevens event held by Melrose Rugby Club, in Melrose, Scotland. It is the oldest rugby sevens competition dating from 1883, when the tournament was suggested by former Melrose player Ned Haig.

Held every April, the tournament is part of the Kings of the Sevens competition, and has attracted teams from as far afield as Japan, Uruguay and South Africa. Melrose are the current champions becoming the first Scottish club side to win since Boroughmuir in 2003, the first Border League side to win since Gala in 1999 and winning their own sevens tournament for the first time since 1998. The win was made all the more remarkable since they beat the holders, Hamilton's RFC of Cape Town, South Africa, ending the run of champions made up of invitational sides consisting of professional and semi-professional players.

Domestically, the tournament is broadcast live by BBC Scotland and BBC Red Button, and locally, from the first tie right through to the final, on Radio Borders.

Past winners

  • 2011 Melrose
  • 2010 Hamilton's RFC of Cape Town (RSA)
  • 2009 University of Johannesburg (RSA)
  • 2008 Scottish Thistles
  • 2007 University of the Orange Free State (Shimlas) (RSA)
  • 2006 Newcastle Falcons (ENG)
  • 2005 Stellenbosch University (RSA)
  • 2004 Stellenbosch University (RSA)
  • 2003 Sale Sharks (ENG)
  • 2002 Boroughmuir
  • 2001 Barbarians
  • 2000 Nawaka (FIJ)
  • 1999 Gala
  • 1998 Melrose
  • 1997 Melrose
  • 1996 Watsonians
  • 1995 Manly
  • 1994 Gala
  • 1993 Co-Optimists
  • 1992 Bay of Plenty......
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from