Metamorphoses (film)

Metamorphoses (Film)

Film Less

Metamorphoses (film)

to get instant updates about 'Metamorphoses (Film)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

is a Japanese animated film, originally released by Sanrio in the United States on May 3, 1979. The film is a retelling of stories from Metamorphoses by the Roman poet Ovid, set to rock music by Arthur Simms and Pattie Brooks. In all of its five parts, the protagonists are portrayed in the form of a recurring boy and girl.

The movie was Sanrio's second animated release in the US (following their adaptation of The Mouse and His Child the previous year). Over 170 animators, all employed in Hollywood, worked on it for three years.

Metamorphoses tried to be the rock era's answer to Fantasia, but its original run was critically reviled and closed as soon as it opened: according to many of its crew, a lot of problems with the production, music and plotting were to blame.

A year later, it was reissued under a new title, Winds of Change, with seven minutes trimmed away from the first cut of 89 minutes. This time, the music was composed by Alec R. Costandinos, and narration provided by Peter Ustinov was added.

The five parts—"Actaeon", "Orpheus and Eurydice", "The House of Envy", "Perseus" and "Phaëton", in the original order—were re-arranged and slightly renamed for the new version; only the third and last parts remained unmoved. In the Winds cut, the first two were now "Perseus" and "Actaeon", and the fourth "Orpheus".

In addition, the boy was now called Wondermaker, and the girl played different...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from