Mid Canterbury Rugby Football Union

Mid Canterbury Rugby Football Union

_esl_club Less

Mid Canterbury Rugby Football Union

to get instant updates about 'Mid Canterbury Rugby Football Union' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Mid Canterbury Rugby Football Union (MCRFU) is a rugby province in the South Island of New Zealand.


The Mid Canterbury Rugby Football Union was formed in 1904 as Ashburton Country when it broke away from the Canterbury Rugby Football Union. The union changed its name to Mid Canterbury in 1927.

Representative Rugby

The Mid Canterbury team play from Ashburton Showgrounds, Ashburton and in the 2006 season are in Pool B of the Heartland Championship. They are seeded 9th for the Championship as they finished 5th in the 3rd division in 2005.


Mid Canterbury Rugby Football Union is made up of 9 clubs:
  • Allenton
  • Celtic
  • Collegiate
  • Hampstead
  • Methven
  • Mt Somers
  • Rakaia
  • Southern
  • Tinwald

Mid Canterbury in Super Rugby

<!-- Commented out: -->Mid Canterbury along with Canterbury, Tasman, Buller, South Canterbury and West Coast make up the Crusaders Super 14 franchise.


Mid Canterbury won the 2nd division South Island in 1980,1983 and the 3rd division in 1994 and 1998.

Heartland Championship placings

Ranfurly Shield

Mid Canterbury have never held the Ranfurly Shield.

Hanan Shield

The Hanan Shield is one of the most prestigious trophy in New Zealand's domestic rugby union competition. First played for in 1946, the Hanan Shield is based on a challenge system played between North Otago, South Canterbury and Mid Canterbury.

All Blacks

There have only been 3 players selected for the All Blacks whilst playing their club rugby in...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from