Middlesbrough Bears

Middlesbrough Bears

Speedway Team
Speedway Team Less

Middlesbrough Bears

to get instant updates about 'Middlesbrough Bears' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Middlesbrough Bears were a British speedway team which operated under various names from 1939 until their closure in 1996.Bamford, R & Jarvis J.(2001). Homes of British Speedway. ISBN 0-7524-2210-3

Brief history

The team was initially nicknamed the Bears in 1939. The track at Cleveland Park, which operated in the pioneer days of the late 1920s and for a short spell in 1939, staged a couple of open meetings in 1945, then saw competitive league speedway from 1946 until 1948. The Bears won the Northern League in 1946 and Division Two in 1947 before the promotion moved to Newcastle in 1948. The Bears nickname was again used when the track re-opened in 1961. At the end of the 1964 season the Bears team moved to Halifax and the track staged challenge matches 1965 and 1966 before folding. The track was used in the 1950s for amateur / club events.

The track opened again from 1968 to 1972 but were nicknamed the Teessiders. During 1973 they were again renamed, this time as the Teesside Tigers and then Middlesbrough Tigers in 1979 which they used used until the end of the 1988 season. During this period they became National League Champions in 1981 and twice won the National League Fours Championship. In 1989, the club reverted once again to the Bears until their permanent closure in 1996 when Cleveland Park was sold for re-development.

In 2006 a new track opened at South Tees Motorsport Park South Bank, Middlesbrough and entered the Premier League under...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Speedway Team
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from