Miraj Junior

Miraj Junior

Indian Jurisdiction
Indian Jurisdiction Less

Miraj Junior

to get instant updates about 'Miraj Junior' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Maraj Junior was one of the non-salute princely states of British India, under the southern division of the Bombay Presidency, forming part of the southern Mahratta Jagirs, and later the Deccan States Agency. The State of Miraj was founded before 1750 and was the former capital of the pre-British State of Sangli. In 1820, the state was divided between a Senior and Junior branch. The territory of both branches was widely scattered among other native states and British districts.

The rulers, of the Patwardhan dynasty, used the title of Raja, and were of the same clan that ruled nearby Jamkhandi. Raja Govind Rao Patwardhan, 1st Ruler of Miraj, began as a commandant of the body of horse, distinguished himself in several expeditions against the Nizam of Hyderabad and Hyder Ali of Mysore, established the Maratha ascendancy in southern India and pushed the Maratha conquests to the frontier of Mysore.

Miraj Junior measured in area. According to the 1901 census, the population was 35,806. In 1901, the state enjoyed revenue estimated at £27,000-, and paid £400 in tribute to the British Raj. The Raja resided in the town of Bhudgaon (population 3,591 in 1901).

Miraj Junior acceded to the Dominion of India on March 8, 1948 and is currently a part of Maharashtra state.


External links

  • List of rulers of Miraj Junior

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Indian Jurisdiction
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from