Montgomeryshire (district)

Montgomeryshire (District)

Historic Subdivision
Historic Subdivision Less

Montgomeryshire (district)

to get instant updates about 'Montgomeryshire (District)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Montgomeryshire () was, from 1974 to 1996, one of three districts of the county of Powys, Wales. The district had an identical area to the previous administrative county of Montgomeryshire.

The district was formed as Montgomery on 1 April 1974 as part of a general reorganisation of local government in England and Wales under the Local Government Act 1972. The new district replaced ten local authorities:

In 1986 the name of the district was changed to Montgomeryshire by resolution of the council.

On 1 April 1996 the two-tier system of councils introduced in Wales in 1974 was replaced, and the country was divided into twenty-two counties and county boroughs by the Local Government Act 1994. Accordingly the district was abolished, with its area passing to the county of Powys.


Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Historic Subdivision
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from