Montgomeryshire (UK Parliament constituency)

Montgomeryshire (UK Parliament Constituency)

UK ConstituencyMain
UK ConstituencyMain

Montgomeryshire (UK Parliament constituency)

to get instant updates about 'Montgomeryshire (UK Parliament Constituency)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Montgomeryshire () is a constituency represented in the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. It elects one Member of Parliament (MP) by the first-past-the-post system of election.

The Montgomeryshire Welsh Assembly constituency was created with the same boundaries in 1999.


The seat is based on the ancient county of Montgomeryshire, in the principal area of Powys. One of the UK's most rural and isolated constituencies, it has also been one of the small handful of seats that the Lib Dems (formerly the Liberal Party) could call safe, before a loss to the Conservatives in the 2010 General Election. Apart from this and a Conservative victory in the 1979 general election, Montgomeryshire has elected Liberal or Liberal-affiliated candidates since 1880. The seat was officially known as Montgomery before 1997.

Members of Parliament


Elections in the 2010s

Elections in the 2000s

Elections in the 1990s

Elections in the 1980s

Elections in the 1970s

Elections in the 1960s

Elections in the 1950s

Elections in the 1940s

See also

Notes and references


  • Robert Beatson, A Chronological Register of Both Houses of Parliament (London: Longman, Hurst, Res & Orme, 1807)
  • D Brunton & D H Pennington, Members of the Long Parliament (London: George Allen & Unwin, 1954)
  • Cobbett's...... ...
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


UK Constituency Main
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from