, known by most as Morrissey Manor, is one of the 29 Residence Halls on the campus of the University of Notre Dame
and one of the 15 male dorms. The Manor houses 260 undergraduate students.
Built in 1925, Morrissey Hall is named after Fr. Andrew Morrissey, C.S.C., Notre Dame's seventh president. The dorm's motto, "Bonum Jucundumque Habitare Fratres" means, "It is good and pleasant for brothers to live together."
The X-shaped cross on the building represents the crucifixion of St. Andrew, Fr. Morrissey's patron saint. Its shield symbolizes the undying commitment of St. Andrew, as well as the pride of The Manor's residents. The symbols seen on the shield signify Notre Dame (open book), the Holy Spirit (descending dove), Ireland (harp), and sportsmanship (winged shoe).
The Manor is one of three dorms (along with Lyons and Howard) which were formerly known as "the Golden Coast". At the time, the three dorms were located on the edge of campus.
Designed by Matt Love and Francis Kervick of Kervick & Fagan Architecture Firm, Morrissey boasts some of the most elaborate architecture of any dorm on campus. With its elaborate masonry and tall tower, Morrissey's exterior is most impressive.
The Manor underwent a 2 year multi-million dollar renovation during the summers of 1997 and 1998. A complete overhaul of the exterior gave the Manor new landscaping, sidewalks, a new roof, gutters, and more bike racks, while the interior... Read More