: ເມືອງໄຊ) is a capital city of Oudomxai Province
. It is located at around . The town is served by the Oudomsay Airport
Legend has it that in the year 1323, the inhabitants of the village Ban Luang Cheng in "Takka Sila" Town were in the forest to cut bamboo. While they were making some fishing utensils out of it, they saw a monk coming from the forest walking towards them. He had left to the forest long before to practice meditation. The monk asked the villagers what they were doing and they replied that they were making a fishing basket and offered him some food.Because of that experience, the villagers changed the town's name from "Takka Sila" to "Muang Xay", as the monk's name was Paxay.Khana Sinam Gaan Khon Khua Hiabhiang (Provincial Government Leader Group of Research and Data Collection): "Phavatsaat Muunsya Khweeng Oudomxay" (History of Oudomxay Province)
, 2004, p. 19-28
In 1987, Muang Xay became the capital of Oudomxay Province instead of Ban Nahin
Oudomxay is connected to Luang Prabang by National Road 1.
The town has got an airport (IATA
: ODY, ICAO
: VLOS), from where Lao Airlines
flies to Vientiane three times a week. The airport is located about 10 walking minutes from the town center.
A sufficient electricity supply is genereally given in Muang Xay.
The residents of the town are mainly Lao......