Municipal arrondissements of France

Municipal Arrondissements Of France

Municipal arrondissements of France

to get instant updates about 'Municipal Arrondissements Of France' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The municipal arrondissement (, ) is a subdivision of the commune, used in the three largest cities: Paris, Lyon and Marseille. It functions as an even lower administrative division, with its own mayor. Although usually referred to simply as an "arrondissements", they should not be confused with departmental arrondissements, which are groupings of communes within one département.

General characteristics

There are 45 municipal arrondissements in France: 20 in Paris (see: Arrondissements of Paris), nine in Lyon (see: Arrondissements of Lyon), and 16 in Marseille. However, a law in 1987 assigned the 16 arrondissements of Marseille to eight secteurs ("areas"), two arrondissements by secteur. Thus, in effect, Marseille can be more properly described as being divided into eight secteurs, the 16 arrondissements having been made hollow units.

  • The largest arrondissement is the ninth arrondissement of Marseille: 63.21 km² (24.4 sq. miles, or 15,620 acres), which is 26% of the size of the city of Marseille, and is 60% the size of the city of Paris (including the Bois de Boulogne and Bois de Vincennes). It contains the Luminy Park, which is a protected park and the calanques of Marseille.
  • The smallest arrondissement is the second arrondissement of Paris: 0.992 km² (0.383 sq. miles, or 245 acres).


Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from