Municipal history of Quebec

Municipal History Of Quebec

Municipal history of Quebec

to get instant updates about 'Municipal History Of Quebec' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The municipal history of Quebec started in 1796 with the creation of administrations for Montréal and Quebec City, but it really developed in a first time in 1841, then 1 July 1845 when the Parliament of the Province of Canada adopts the law 8 Victoria chapter 40 to create local authorities in Lower Canada.

Those localities were disbanded 1 September 1847 by the law 10-11 Victoria chapter 7, to create county municipalities, but were reinstated 1 July 1855 by the law 18 Victoria chapter 100. This same bill provided the right to settlements out of a parish populated with more than 300 inhabitants to become a municipality 1 January of the next year. Another act later provides new conditions for the creation of municipalities (23 Victoria chapter 61).

For more than a century localities changed more or less. The major modifications were from the colonization of new territories. Until 2002 and 2006, there were no major reorganizations in the municipal history of Quebec, with the notable exceptions of Laval and Bécancour.

Municipal chronology


  • 7 May: Creation of the Cities of Montréal and Québec.




  • 18 May: The Municipality of Les Isles-de-la-Magdelaine changes its name to Les Isles-de-la-Magdeleine.
  • 4 July: Creation......
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from