Nacional championship

Nacional Championship

Nacional championship

to get instant updates about 'Nacional Championship' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Nacional championship was an Argentine football tournament that existed between 1967 and 1985. The Nacional formed one half of the Argentine 1st division taking place in the second half of the year, the Metropolitano took place in the first half of the year. This arrangement lasted until 1982 when they were reversed. The Metropolitano and Nacional were abolished and replaced by European style seasons starting in 1985-1986.

The Nacional was played with a number of different formats including the basic league table, 2 groups qualifying to semi-finals and four groups qualifying to a final group, round of 16 or quarter finals. The last Nacional in 1985 featured an extremely complicated set-up. The number of participants varied between a low of 16 (1967 and 1968) to a high of 36 (1974).

List of Champions

Top three finishes


  • River Plate, Rosario Central, Independiente and Boca Juniors are the most successful teams, with three wins each.

  • Argentinos Juniors only ever won one Nacional, the last ever one, in 1985.

  • Both of Ferro Carril Oeste's 2 league wins came in the Nacional, 1982 and 1984.

External links

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from