Nagapattinam district

Nagapattinam District

Nagapattinam district

to get instant updates about 'Nagapattinam District' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Nagapattinam District is a coastal district of Tamil Nadu state in southern India. The town of Nagapattinam is the district headquarters.


It had a population of 1,488,839 as of 2001. It is 22.18% urbanised as per Census 2001.

The district has a literacy of 76.89%, around the average in the state.



Nagapattinam District was formerly a part of Thanjavur District. The district boundary is shared by Tiruvarur, Karaikal, Tanjore and Cuddalore districts. Its population at the 2001 Census was nearly 1.5 million. It is divided into seven taluks. All but two of them are coastal, and all are named after their main towns, which are their administrative centres. From north to south, they are Sirkazhi, Tharangambadi, Mayiladuthurai (non-coastal), Nagapattinam, Kilvelur, Thirukkuvalai (non-coastal), and Vedaranyam. It is bordered on the east by the Bay of Bengal and on the south by the Palk Strait. On the coast between Tharamgambadi and Nagapattinam lies the small district of Karaikal, an enclave belonging administratively to the Pondicherry Union Territory.

This is the only district in Tamil Nadu to be formed out of two disjoint regions. The district headquarters Nagapattinam is located in the southern part which is less populated than the northern one. But people from the most populous northern part have to come down all the way to headquarters either by entering other district (Thiruvarur) or other Union territory...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from