Nagercoil (Lok Sabha constituency)

Nagercoil (Lok Sabha Constituency)

Nagercoil (Lok Sabha constituency)

to get instant updates about 'Nagercoil (Lok Sabha Constituency)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Nagercoil was a Lok Sabha constituency in Tamil Nadu, India. K. Kamaraj Nadar, the first elected Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu was elected twice to the Lok Sabha from here.

Kamarajar by-election victory

The death of A. Nesamony in 1968 led to the by-election in Nagercoil constituency. Realising the popularity of Kamaraj in this constituency and the pontential danger posed by Kamaraj's election after the Indian National Congress party's debacle in 1967 election, C. Rajagopalachari wrote in Swarajya, the magazine of the Swatantra Party about the need to defeat him and appealed to C. N. Annadurai to support M. Mathias, the Swatantra Party candidate. Annadurai deputed M. Karunanidhi, the then Minister for Public Works to Nagercoil to work in support of M. Mathias. Despite the efforts, Kamaraj won decisively with a 1,28,201 votes margin on 8 January 1969.

Assembly segments

Nagercoil Lok Sabha constituency used to be composed of the following assembly segments:
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from