National Assembly of Laos

National Assembly Of Laos

National Assembly of Laos

to get instant updates about 'National Assembly Of Laos' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The unicameral National Assembly of Laos (Sapha Heng Xat) is the parliament of Laos. It was established in its current form by the Lao Constitution of 1991 , replacing the Supreme People's Assembly. After the December 1997 elections, the number of seats were increased to 99, a new structure was announced and Samane Vignaket was elected as its president. The National Assembly meets in Vientiane.

Laos is a single-party state. This means that only one political party, the Revolutionary People's Party of Laos, is legally allowed to hold effective power. Most of the National Assembly's actions simply rubber stamp the party's decisions, but efforts have been made to increase the capacity of its members, aiming to strengthen their legislative, oversight, and representational capacities.

The current body, elected in national polling on April 30, 2006 has 115 members, elected for a five-year term. It met for the first time on June 8, 2006. Thongsing Thammavong was elected the Assembly's president. Vice-President is Mrs Pany Yathotou and Dr Xaysomphone Phomvihane.


Parliamentary committees of the National Assembly currently include:
  • Law Committee
  • Economy, Planning and Finance Committee
  • Cultural and Social Committee
  • Ethnic Affairs Committee
  • National Defence and Security Committee
  • Foreign Affairs Committee

Latest election

See also


Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from