National Capital Development Commission

National Capital Development Commission

National Capital Development Commission

to get instant updates about 'National Capital Development Commission' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The National Capital Development Commission (NCDC) was an Australian Commonwealth Government body created to complete the establishment of Canberra as the seat of government. It was created in 1957 through the National Capital Development Commission Act 1957.

Under the control of the NCDC Canberra grew from a population of 40,000 to 300,000. The NCDC was responsible for the development of Canberra's satellite cities; Woden Valley, Belconnen, Tuggeranong and Gungahlin. The NCDC also oversaw construction of Lake Burley Griffin and New Parliament House.

The NCDC had four Commissioners:
  • Sir John Overall, Commissioner, 1958-1972
  • W.C. Andrews, Commissioner, 1972-1974
  • Tony Powell, Commissioner, 1974-1985
  • Malcolm Latham, Commissioner, 1985-1989

The NCDC was advised by the National Capital Planning Committee which was chaired by the NCDC Commissioner and composed of six nominated representatives of the Royal Australian Institute of Architects, the Institution of Engineers, Australia and the Royal Australian Planning Institute plus two other members with special knowledge and experience in cultural matters.

The NCDC was abolished after the ACT Act 1988, and most of its functions passed to the new ACT government and the National Capital Authority.

Predecessors and successors of the NCDC:

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from