National Capital Region (Canada)

National Capital Region (Canada)

Settlement Less

National Capital Region (Canada)

to get instant updates about 'National Capital Region (Canada)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

<!-- Infobox ends -->

The National Capital Region, also referred to as Canada's Capital Region, is an official federal designation for the Canadian capital of Ottawa, Ontario, the neighbouring city of Gatineau, Quebec, and surrounding urban and rural communities.

Defined by the National Capital Act, the National Capital Region consists of an area of that straddles the Ottawa River, which serves as the boundary between the provinces of Ontario and Quebec. This area is smaller than that of the Ottawa-Gatineau Census Metropolitan Area (CMA), which is in size.

Ottawa-Gatineau is the only CMA in the nation to fall within two provinces.The National Capital Region also refers a larger geographic area surrounding Ottawa and Gatineau.

In addition to the Ottawa-Gatineau CMA, this larger area includes municipalities in the bordering Ontario counties of Prescott-Russell, Stormont-Dundas and Glengarry, Leeds-Grenville, Lanark, and Renfrew, as well as municipalities in Quebec's Outaouais region, due to their close economic and social ties with Ottawa.

When all these municipalities are added, the population of the National Capital Region is 1,451,415.


The first settlement in the region was led by Philemon Wright, a New Englander from Woburn, Massachusetts who, on March 7, 1800, arrived with his own and five other families along with twenty-five labourers to...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from