National Scenic Byway

National Scenic Byway

National Scenic Byway

to get instant updates about 'National Scenic Byway' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

A National Scenic Byway is a road recognized by the United States Department of Transportation for its archeological, cultural, historic, natural, recreational, and/or scenic qualities. The program was established by Congress in 1991 to preserve and protect the nation's scenic but often less-traveled roads and promote tourism and economic development. The program is administered by the Federal Highway Administration.

The most scenic of the roads in the program are designated All-American Roads. The designation means they have features that do not exist elsewhere in the United States and are scenic enough to be tourist destinations unto themselves. As of November 2010, there are 120 National Scenic Byways and 31 All-American Roads, located in 46 states (all except Hawaii, Nebraska, Rhode Island, and Texas).


National Scenic Byways must go through a nomination procedure, and must already be designated as a state scenic byway in order to be nominated (However, roads that meet all criteria and requirements for National designation but not State or designation criteria may be considered for national designation on a case-by-case basis).

To be considered for designation as a National Scenic Byway "a road or highway must significantly meet at least one of the six scenic byways intrinsic qualities". To be designated as an All-American Road, a road must meet at least two of the six qualities. The...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from