to get instant updates about 'Navaratna' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Navaratna is literally a Sanskrit compound word meaning "nine gems".

Royal setting

The ancient origin of the 9 Gems—called Navaratna in Sanskrit, Hindi, Burmese, Indonesian, and Nepalese, Navarathinam in Tamil, Navarathnam in Malayalam, Navaratne in Singhalese, Nopparat in Rajasaap (Royal Thai), and Nopparatana in standard Thai—has proved impossible to trace. Yet such importance is given to this combination of nine gems that they are recognized as sacred and royal in almost all the countries of Asia, including, India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Singapore, Myanmar, Cambodia, Vietnam, Indonesia, Thailand and Malaysia, regardless of religious and cultural differences. Among all these countries, Thailand stands out as the only kingdom where Navaratna is officially recognized, a specific National and Royal symbol of the king, and a high award given by the king called "Nopparat Rajavaraporn" (the Ancient Auspicious Order of the Nine Gems).


The decoration consists of a single class (Knight). The insignia is:
  • Pendant of the Nine Gems, on a yellow sash with red, blue and green trims, worn over the right shoulder to the left hip (for men). For women, the Pendant of the Nine Gems is attached onto a silk ribbon, worn on the front left shoulder.
  • Star of the Nine Gems, to wear on the left chest
  • Gold Ring of the Nine Gems, for men, to wear on the right ring finger.

Gems and...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from