Nepalese mohar

to get instant updates about 'Nepalese Mohar' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The mohar was the currency of Nepal from the second half of the 17th century until 1932. Silver and gold mohars were issued, each subdivided into 128 dams. Copper dams were also issued, together with copper paisa worth 4 copper dams. The values of the copper, silver and gold coinages relative to one another were not fixed until 1903. In that year, the silver mohar became the standard currency, divided into 50 paisa. It was replaced in 1932 by the rupee, also called the mohru, at a rate of 2 mohars = 1 rupee.


In the reign of Girvan Yuddha (1799–1816), copper coins were issued for 1 and 2 dam and 2 paisa, with silver coins for 1 dam, , , ⅛, ¼, ½, ¾, 1, 1½ and 3 mohar and gold coins for 1 dam, , , ⅛, ¼, ½, 1, 1½ and 2 mohar.

In the reign of the next king (Rajendra, 1816–1847), no copper coins were issued, with silver ¾, 1½ and 3 mohar discontinued and 2 mohar introduced. Gold 1½ mohar were also discontinued.

Surendra (1847–1881) introduced a new copper coinage in 1866, consisting of 1 dam, 1 and 2 paisa, with ½ paisa issued from 1880. The silver coinage consisted of the same denominations as his predecessor, with the gold coinage similar except for the absence of the 2 mohar. The coinage of Prithvi (1881–1911) was very similar to that of Surendra, except for the issue of silver 4 mohar and gold mohar.

The copper coinage of Tribhuvan consisted of 1 paisa, with 2 and 5 paisa added in 1919. Silver coins were issued for 1 dam, ¼, ½, 1, 2 and 4 mohar,...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from