New York Court of Appeals

New York Court Of Appeals

High Court
High Court Less

New York Court of Appeals

to get instant updates about 'New York Court Of Appeals' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The New York Court of Appeals is the highest court in the U.S. state of New York. The Court of Appeals consists of seven judges: the Chief Judge and six associate judges who are appointed by the Governor to 14-year terms. The Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals is also the head of the State's court system's administration, and is thus also known as the Chief Judge of the State of New York. The present Chief Judge is Jonathan Lippman. The 1842 Neoclassical courthouse is located in New York's capital, Albany.


New York, unlike most other U.S. states, calls its trial and intermediate appellate courts, the "Supreme Court." New York's Supreme Court is not the court of last resort. This sometimes leads to confusion.

Another source of confusion is the title of the jurists who sit on these courts. In most states and the federal court system, members of the highest court are titled "Justices." In New York, the members of the Court of Appeals are titled "Judges," while those sitting on the bench of the State Supreme Court are titled "Justices."


The Court of Appeals was created by the New York State Constitution of 1846 to replace both the Court for the Correction of Errors and the Court of Chancery, and had eight members. Four judges were elected by general ballot at the State elections, the other four were chosen annually from among the Supreme Court justices. The first four judges elected at the special judicial state......
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


High Court
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from