New Zealand Ice Hockey League

New Zealand Ice Hockey League

Sports League
Sports League Less

New Zealand Ice Hockey League

to get instant updates about 'New Zealand Ice Hockey League' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The NZIHL is New Zealand’s national league. It is an amateur league that was formed in 2005 to develop the sport in the New Zealand and to give the top players regular competition against each other and to allow them to improve the skill level of the game domestically as well become more competitive on the international scene.

Because the NZIHL plays during the Northern Hemisphere countries' offseason, overseas players can travel to New Zealand and enjoy an off-season abroad while keeping them in ice hockey shape.

The 5 teams in the NZIHL represent the 3 regions affiliated to the New Zealand Ice Hockey Federation, with 2 teams coming from the Auckland and Southern regions and one from the Canterbury region.



NZIHL team rosters must be made up of a minimum 18 players and 2 goalies. Every roster must have a least 2 players eligible for the NZ U18 team and at least 3 players eligible for the NZ U20 team. If a player is a U18 & U20 rep he can only be counted once. Hence each roster must have a minimum 5 junior players.

Each team is allowed an unlimited number of overseas imports (not eligible for NZ) on their roster, however each team is only allowed to play up to 5 non NZ eligible players in a game at a time.

Season structure

In the 2007 NZIHL season each team plays 10 games over 6 rounds. The competition starts in May and teams compete in rounds every two...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Sports League
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from