Newcastle University Medical School

Newcastle University Medical School

University Less

Newcastle University Medical School

to get instant updates about 'Newcastle University Medical School' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The University of Newcastle upon Tyne Medical School was established in 1834 in the city of Newcastle upon Tyne and served as the College of Medicine in connection with Durham University from 1851 to 1937 when it joined Armstrong College, to form King's College, Durham. In 1963 King's College became the University of Newcastle upon Tyne. The university now uses the name "Newcastle University".


The medical school follows a modern, integrated, systems based curriculum, and was the first medical school in the country to operate an integrated medical curriculum. It operates in partnership with Durham University's medical school, which is based at the university's Queen's Campus. Students at both Newcastle and Durham study independently for the first two years, before all being assigned to one of four separate clinical base units for the third year. These base units are Tyneside, Northumbria, Wearside and Teesside. It is at these base units that the bulk of clinical teaching takes place. All students, including those from Durham, then go to Newcastle Medical School for their fourth year before returning to a base unit different from the one they attended in third year for their fifth and final year of university teaching. Again, this is an almost entirely clinical year.

The medical school also offers an accelerated medical programme, intended for students who have a previous degree in a different (often unrelated) discipline. This...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from