Non-subscribing Presbyterian Church of Ireland

Non-Subscribing Presbyterian Church Of Ireland

Non-subscribing Presbyterian Church of Ireland

to get instant updates about 'Non-Subscribing Presbyterian Church Of Ireland' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Non-subscribing Presbyterian Church of Ireland derives its name and its liberal and tolerant identity from early 18th century Presbyterian ministers who refused to subscribe at their ordination to the Westminster Confession, a standard Reformed (Calvinist) statement of faith; and who formed, in 1725, the Presbytery of Antrim. A similar phenomenon led to the creation of the Remonstrant Synod of Ulster in 1830. The two bodies created the Non-subscribing Presbyterian Church of Ireland (NSPCI) in 1910. The Synod of Munster became part of the NSPCI in 1935.

Many Non-subscribing Presbyterians keep close contact with the Unitarians and are sometimes identified as such, though they are distinct bodies.

Today, the denomination has thirty-one congregations in Northern Ireland and two congregations in the Republic of Ireland, with a total of about four thousand members. They are served by fewer than twenty ministers; both women and men serve as ministers. The NSCPI is a member of the Irish Council of Churches, the European Liberal Protestant Network and the International Association for Religious Freedom.

See also

Other Presbyterian denominations in Ireland

External links

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from