Norfolk Legislative Assembly

Norfolk Legislative Assembly


Norfolk Legislative Assembly

to get instant updates about 'Norfolk Legislative Assembly' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Norfolk Legislative Assembly is the prime legislative body of Norfolk Island. Formed after the Norfolk Island Act 1979 was passed in the Australian parliament, its first members were elected on the tenth of August 1979 .


The assembly has 9 members, elected for a three year term. The assembly is elected by a popular vote for a term of not more than three years. Electors each have nine equal votes, which can be divided in any way between candidates, except that no more than two votes may be given to any particular individual candidate. Some call this variation of cumulative voting the "weighted first past the post system".

All nine seats are held by independents, as Norfolk Island does not have political parties.

On 24 March 2010 the responsible Australian Minister, the Minister for Home Affairs congratulated the new assembly on its election, naming its members and office holders:

  • David Buffett AM – Chief Minister
  • Craig Anderson – Minister for Finance and the Attorney-General
  • Andre Nobbs – Minister for Tourism, Industry and Development
  • Tim Sheridan – Minister for Community Services
  • Robin Adams JP – Speaker
  • Lisle Snell – Deputy Speaker
  • Melissa Ward
  • Mike King
  • Rhonda Griffiths



See also

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from