Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford (UK Parliament constituency)

Normanton, Pontefract And Castleford (UK Parliament Constituency)

UK ConstituencyMain
UK ConstituencyMain

Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford (UK Parliament constituency)

to get instant updates about 'Normanton, Pontefract And Castleford (UK Parliament Constituency)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford is a county constituency represented in the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. It elects one Member of Parliament (MP) by the first past the post system of election.


Following their review of parliamentary representation in West Yorkshire, the Boundary Commission for England has recommended the creation of a new seat of Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford, taking the Normanton, Castleford and Pontefract towns from the district of Wakefield. Due to population decline, the Commission had to reduce the constituencies of the county by one, resulting in the "merger" of Normanton and Pontefract/Castleford seats.

The electoral wards used in the formation of this constituency, which was first fought at the 2010 general election are:
  • Airedale and Ferry Fryston, Altofts and Whitwood, Castleford Central and Glasshoughton, Knottingley, Normanton, Pontefract North, and Pontefract South

The Commission had great difficulty in naming the constituency, with "Normanton and Pontefract" and "Pontefract and Castleford" both suggested. On May 24, 2006 the modified name was chosen following further public consultation.

Members of Parliament

Election Results

See also

Notes and references

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


UK Constituency Main
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from