Norris Division

Norris Division

Sports Division
Sports Division Less

Norris Division

to get instant updates about 'Norris Division' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The NHL's Norris Division was formed in 1974 as part of the Prince of Wales Conference. The division moved to the Clarence Campbell Conference in 1981, with the Detroit Red Wings being the only member to remain from the previous season. The division existed for 19 seasons until 1993. The division was named in honor of James E. Norris. It is the fore-runner of the NHL's Central Division. Intense rivalries developed between its constituent teams.

As part of his shtick, ESPN's Chris Berman often refers to the National Football League's NFC North division (previously the NFC Central division) as the Norris Division or "NFC Norris" since the two divisions included teams from three of the same cities: Chicago, Detroit, and Minneapolis-St. Paul. The Tampa Bay Area was also briefly represented in both divisions simultaneously, during the 1992-93 NHL Season.

Division lineups


Changes from the 1973–1974 season

  • The Norris Division is formed as a result of NHL realignment
  • The Detroit Red Wings and Montreal Canadiens come from the Eastern Division
  • The Los Angeles Kings and Pittsburgh Penguins come from the Western Division
  • The Washington Capitals were added as an expansion team


  • Detroit Red Wings
  • Hartford Whalers
  • Los Angeles Kings
  • Montreal Canadiens
  • Pittsburgh Penguins

Changes from the 1978–1979 season

  • The Hartford Whalers were......
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Sports Division
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from