North Arcot

to get instant updates about 'North Arcot' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Indian District of North Arcot was split on 30-09-1989 into Tiruvannamalai-Sambuvarayar (present-day Tiruvannamalai District) and North Arcot Ambedkar (present-day Vellore District).


Historically, the name "Arcot" is said to be derived from a linguistic corruption of the original Tamil word "Aaru Kaadu", meaning "Six Forests". The region is described in common folklore as lush region flanked by six forests in which is said to have resided a myriad of sages and seers.

Under the British Raj

During the British Raj, the North Arcot district formed a key province in the then Madras Presidency, under the control of the Nawabs of Arcot. The region of Arcot under the control of the Mughal regime in India was under the jagir or fiefdom of the Subah of Arcot. The famous Palar river intersects the region and the portion of Arcot to the north of the Palar came to be known as North Arcot. It is described as an inland district on the eastern side of the Madras Presidency, lying between 12 degrees 20 mins and 13 degrees and 55 mins North and 78 degrees and 14 mins and 79 degrees and 59 minutes E, with an area of .

On the north the district is separated from Cuddapah by a portion of the Eastern Ghats and locally known as the Tirupati Hills, form the town of that name which lies at their foot. The range is broken by a long valley running northwards into the Cuddapah District. Advantage has been taken of this gap by the north-west line of the......
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from