North Caucasus Military District

North Caucasus Military District

Military Unit
Military Unit Less

North Caucasus Military District

to get instant updates about 'North Caucasus Military District' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The North Caucasus Military District was a military district of the Russian Ground Forces, which became in 2010 the Southern Operational Strategic Command and nowadays also includes the Black Sea Fleet and Caspian Flotilla. It comprises the Republic of Adygeya, the Republic of Dagestan, the Republic of Ingushetia, the Kabardino-Balkar Republic, the Republic of Kalmykia, the Karachayevo-Cherkess Republic, the Republic of North Osetia-Alaniya, the Chechen Republic, Krasnodar Krai, Stavropol Krai, and Astrakhan, Volgograd, and Rostov oblasts. It has the same borders as the Southern Federal District, and has been commanded by Lieutenant General Alexander Galkin since January 2010.


The District was originally established on 4 May 1918, and reorganised as a field formation during the Russian Civil War. The First Cavalry Army was formed in the District in November 1919. The District was reformed in the early 1920s with its headquarters at Rostov. Kliment Voroshilov was made district commander. During the 1920s and 1930s the District became home to many training establishments, which were to multiply greatly during World War II. The 19th Army was formed in the District in May-June 1941 under former district commander Ivan Konev and was engaged against the Germans from the beginning of Operation Barbarossa. 50th and 53rd Cavalry Divisions were also formed here, joining the Soviet......
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Military Unit
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from