North West England (European Parliament constituency)

North West England (European Parliament Constituency)

European ParliamentConstituency
European ParliamentConstituency Less

North West England (European Parliament constituency)

to get instant updates about 'North West England (European Parliament Constituency)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

North West England is a constituency of the European Parliament. For the 2009 elections it elects 8 MEPs using the d'Hondt method of party-list proportional representation.


The constituency corresponds to the North West England region of the United Kingdom, comprising the ceremonial counties of Cheshire, Cumbria, Greater Manchester, Lancashire and Merseyside.


Following the passing of the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1999, the North West of England formed one constituency from which candidates are elected using the d'Hondt formula. In the election preceding this Act, MEPs were elected from first-past-the-post constituencies. These were Cheshire East, Cheshire West and Wirral, Cumbria and Lancashire North, Greater Manchester Central, Greater Manchester East, Greater Manchester West, Lancashire Central, Lancashire South, Merseyside East and Wigan, Merseyside West, and parts of Staffordshire West and Congleton.

Returned members

Election results

Elected candidates are listed in bold. Brackets indicate the number of votes per seat won.

External links


Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


European Parliament Constituency
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from